Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Re-establishing position « previous next »
Page: 1 2 3 ... 9

chad1336

****
Starter

Posts : 509
Offline
: October 21, 2012, 04:27:09 PM

Re-Establishing Receiver Position
A receiver running a downfield pattern can not intentionally go out of bounds and then come back into the field of play to catch the football. If this occurs, the catch will be negated by the official, who will call a penalty for illegal touching. However, if the receiver gets bumped out of bounds by a defender, he can re-establish his field position by getting back into the field of play as quickly as possible. He must also step in bounds with both feet before he catches the pass. The official must determine that the receiver was indeed shoved out of bounds, and that he got back into the field of play as fast as he possibly could.


Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/476719-out-of-bounds-rules-in-football/#ixzz29y24rAEC

So, the question is was Mike Williams bumped out of bounds?

tbc_bucs

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 4044
Offline
#1 : October 21, 2012, 04:28:39 PM

Yes he was!


blind melon

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 15680
Online
#2 : October 21, 2012, 04:28:57 PM

Horrible call

Who knew how good it would feel as a fan when we now know what it\'s like for our team to have a direction, an attitude, and dare I say an offense?.  

Good time to be a Bucs fan.

OneTruth

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1978
Offline
#3 : October 21, 2012, 04:29:03 PM

looked like he was pushed out to me

gobuxfla

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1371
Offline
#4 : October 21, 2012, 04:29:16 PM

No, he was not bumped. He was PUSHED. I guess the refs had money on New Orleans winning straight up. There's nothing worse than a ref who has to pay his bookie off for a bad bet.

GayRobot

User is on moderator watch listWatched
****
Starter

Posts : 504
Offline
#5 : October 21, 2012, 04:30:09 PM

OF COURSE they would get the call wrong of course

chad1336

****
Starter

Posts : 509
Offline
#6 : October 21, 2012, 04:30:31 PM

Is this rule outdated or something?

BucDaFackUp

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 4368
Online
#7 : October 21, 2012, 04:31:36 PM

I can't believe what I just saw.....it was blatantly obvious yet they quickly made the call, called the game and ran off the field.....

OneTruth

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1978
Offline
#8 : October 21, 2012, 04:31:38 PM

John Lynch quoted the rule verbatim - then the Referees ruled otherwise

gobuxfla

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1371
Offline
#9 : October 21, 2012, 04:31:51 PM

Is this rule outdated or something?

Not if you're a referee who has a bookie.

bent09

****
Starter

Posts : 327
Offline
#10 : October 21, 2012, 04:31:59 PM

legal bump because freeman was out of the pocket.  I did not know you could bump recievers when the QB was out of the pocket. 

Live and learn.  Great game.

Scholty

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1374
Offline
#11 : October 21, 2012, 04:33:27 PM

According to Mike P in the post game show it only goes that way if the QB is in the pocket.  If he is out of the pocket... he is not allowed to be the first player to touch the ball...

Yeah, I don't get it either...

*******************************Luck happens when hard work meets opportunity.

chad1336

****
Starter

Posts : 509
Offline
#12 : October 21, 2012, 04:34:29 PM

legal bump because freeman was out of the pocket.  I did not know you could bump recievers when the QB was out of the pocket. 

Live and learn.  Great game.

The question isn't about the bump being legal, but the fact that he was bumped/pushed out of bounds, should mean that he could legally enter the field of play and re-establish position.  My guess is that the officials forgot about that part of the rule.  Watch the NFL admit their mistake later this week.

3rd String Kicker

Moderator
*****
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 7835
Offline
#13 : October 21, 2012, 04:34:40 PM

I don't know about that Scholty, sounds like Mike was making that out of his rear end. I can understand why there is no illegal contact, but I'm not following how a receiver who is forced out and reestablishes and how a quarterback's position in the pocket is relevant to negate the catch.

Scholty

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1374
Offline
#14 : October 21, 2012, 04:35:14 PM

Okay, he was past the 5 yard line.... why wasn't it pass interference or illegal touching of a receiver?

*******************************Luck happens when hard work meets opportunity.
Page: 1 2 3 ... 9
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Re-establishing position « previous next »
:

Hide Tools Show Tools