Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Would this defense be better off as a 3-4? « previous next »
Page: 1 2 3

Skull and Bones

Hall of Famer

: May 08, 2013, 11:34:03 AM

Now I'm not going to pretend that I am an expert at the  x and os of the game since I never played past junior high.  I was a 6" string bean in high school.  But I've read some post from several posters who I respect that this defense isn't designed for the front four to generate a lot of pressure.   More of a contain the gaps up front and let the back 7 make plays and utilize blitzes.  Well wouldn't a back 8 be better than a back 7 then?  With a couple of different moves I think we could have converted.  Give us a big ass NT, move McCoy to DE and maybe draft more of a pass rushing LB and we would pretty much be there.  Just seems to me what Schiano wants to do goes against the grain of what all other NFL teams are doing. 

tatmanfish

Hall of Famer

#1 : May 08, 2013, 11:41:31 AM

Nope. Bucs dont have the olbs to run a 3-4. David would likely be useless and mccoy, clayborn, and bowers are more suited to succeed in a 4-3. Bucs would have to rebuild almost their entire front 7.

This was more plausible a couple years ago than it is now.

Quote from: Illuminator
You were simply too smart for me.

freddy

Hall of Famer

#2 : May 08, 2013, 11:44:16 AM

No

Skull and Bones

Hall of Famer

#3 : May 08, 2013, 11:54:32 AM

So is this defensive scheme flawed then?

beardmcdoug

Pro Bowler

#4 : May 08, 2013, 11:56:10 AM

trying to make it work in my head... just don't see it

think we'd have to start gholston at lde for size
bowers to lolb - I think he's too stiff to play standing up
lavid at rolb would get washed under, hes not going to fight off oline blocks
mccoy is really peaking at what he's doing now, shouldn't hit the reset button on him
and can we really rely on spence to anchor the line?