Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  Pirate's Cove (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Obamacare Shoes Begin To Drop . . . « previous next »
Page: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15

WC-Bucs fan

Starter

#120 : September 19, 2013, 03:54:49 AM

I am a liberal, I admit. I do have an issue with "Obamacare." The 30 hour rule for employers to provide healthcare is being abused. I work in the restaurant industry, since we have over 50 employees, our managers thought it would be convenient to hire more employees, and shorten shifts. It doesn't affect me personally, since I don't have the time to work over 30 hours as a full-time college student, but some of the older servers who settled down for waiting tables as their profession are feeling the sting.

CBWx2

Hall of Famer

#121 : September 19, 2013, 04:02:43 AM

I am a liberal, I admit. I do have an issue with "Obamacare." The 30 hour rule for employers to provide healthcare is being abused. I work in the restaurant industry, since we have over 50 employees, our managers thought it would be convenient to hire more employees, and shorten shifts. It doesn't affect me personally, since I don't have the time to work over 30 hours as a full-time college student, but some of the older servers who settled down for waiting tables as their profession are feeling the sting.

One of a number of flaws with the law. In a perfect world, employers wouldn't be in the business of offering healthcare to employees at all, unless they chose to. I think employer sponsored healthcare coverage does nothing but hurt the economy. An added expense that shouldn't be necessary if government was doing it's job correctly.

WC-Bucs fan

Starter

#122 : September 19, 2013, 04:48:57 AM