Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Watched the tape of the Eagles game - Really concerned in some areas defensively « previous next »
Page: 1 2

keeponbucn

Hall of Famer

: October 25, 2006, 10:49:41 AM

Couldn't believe what I saw when watching it again slowing down each play.

- The defnesive line was getting mauled the entire game. Either the Eagles o-line is spectacular, or the Bucs d-line has become garbage. I'm not a pro scout and don't claim to be one but one thing that really stood out to me was the pad-level of the d-line. Rod's big stink always was pad-level, I just don't think it's a focus right now.
The Eagles were punishing at the point of attack which never really happened before.

- Hovan was late getting out of his stance all day. Not sure what this is attributed to but it was very evident.

- Spires was getting abused by Runyan, eaten alive. He was pushing him back 4-5 yards on running plays, again going back to pad-level, IMVHO.   

- The missed tackles are because of poor technique, obviously. Looking at most of them the guys are jumping at the ball carrier instead of wrapping up first. They were literally bouncing off the offensive players. It's disgusting and happened from the first drive until the end of the game.

- Brooks had a terrible game, had to be the worst in his career. He was late recognizing plays and missed numerous tackles besides the most obvious one.

Offense

- The o-line played a really good game. What stood out most was how low the pad level was. Very good to see.

- Alstott missed some key blocks throughout the game as FB. Those missed blocks led to Caddy getting murdered, it wasn't the o-line fault.