Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Limas Sweed runs a 4.40 forty at Texas pro day « previous next »
Page: 1 2 3 ... 9

alldaway

Hall of Famer

« : March 20, 2008, 02:44:04 PM »

I'm a Vandy grad, and if Earl Bennett is taken first out of all the WRs, I'll stop posting on this board for the rest of my life. Dark horse my ---.

I like Bennett, but I doubt he goes earlier than mid-round 2.

I view him at best a 2nd rounder as well but there are rumblings out there he may be rising with one month left to go.  Never say never when it comes to the draft....

http://www.philly.com/philly/sports/eagles/20080319_Birds_have_eyes_on_Vanderbilt_receiver.html

Birds have eyes on Vanderbilt receiver

When the NFL draft commences at the end of next month, remember the name Earl Bennett.

He is a wide receiver from Vanderbilt who is projected to be taken in the second round, and the Eagles are interested enough in him that, according to a league source, they have asked for a personal workout today.

Bennett, 6 feet and 209 pounds, was a three-time all-Southeastern Conference selection and decided to enter the draft after his junior season at Vanderbilt. He led the Commodores in receiving during each of his three seasons, including his freshman year, when Denver's Jay Cutler was his quarterback.

Bennett, who ran a 4.48-second 40-yard dash at the scouting combine in Indianapolis, caught 75 passes for 830 yards and five touchdowns last season. His 236 career receptions are an SEC record.

Vanderbilt's pro workout day is scheduled for Friday on the Nashville campus.

If the Eagles want Bennett, they may have to either take him in the first round or move up in the second because Cutler's Broncos are also interested. Denver's second-round selection, the 42d overall pick, is seven spots ahead of the Eagles' second-round pick.

- Bob Brookover

DanTurksGhost

Hall of Famer

« #1 : March 19, 2008, 05:27:54 PM »