Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  Pirate's Cove (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Yet even more brilliant ideas from the UK - racist children! « previous next »
Page: 1 2

BucsGuru

Hall of Famer
« #15 : July 08, 2008, 09:51:20 AM »

How do you know? Are you a psychologist, have you conducted a major study on it?

We seems to have a lot of very opinionated people with no real basis for their well formed opinions.

You are being ridiculous. My opinion is based on experience, not some asinine scientific study.

How many children like any kind of fine foods, or "flavorful foreign foods?" Not many adults like fine, flavorful foreign foods.

Kids like chicken nuggets, french fries, hamburgers, macaroni and cheese, and ice cream. It doesn't take a doctor or genius scientist to figure out what's going on here...and it isn't racism.

I tend to agree that this is a bit of a stretch, although I'm no doctor, I do play one on these boards!

Biggs3535

Hall of Famer
« #16 : July 08, 2008, 09:54:34 AM »

Firstly, your experience is in the US, not the UK.  Racism over here is pretty much black and white in most states.  In the Uk they have many more cultures in society.

The study isn't saying it does cause racism, just it MIGHT in some cases.  Children are very influenced by their home environment and if they hear negative comments about a food or racial group it will most likely have an impact.

BTW - I am not saying the study is valid, just playing devils advocate.

Fair enough.

But I don't know how a toddler would even know what country a food was from to decide if they should "racist" against it or not.  No part of this "study" makes sense to me.

And who is wasting money studying this garbage anyways?

GameTime

Hall of Famer
« #17 : July 08, 2008, 09:56:09 AM »

to play a bit more devils advocate, everything MIGHT lead to something.

\"Lets put the O back in Country\"

mjs020294

Hall of Famer

« #18 : July 08, 2008, 10:00:23 AM »