Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  College Football Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Rule Question? « previous next »
Page: 1

BucsGuru

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 6394
Offline
: November 07, 2009, 06:26:56 PM

In the NFL I believe after a safety, the team must punt the ball off to the other team.  Is that not so in college football? 
Notre Dame allowed a safety by Navy, but then kicked off instead of punting the ball?



Guest
#1 : November 07, 2009, 06:30:39 PM

LOL at ND losing to Navy.

Trojan52

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 4423
Offline
#2 : November 07, 2009, 06:36:40 PM

Go Navy!!!!!!!!!


BucsGuru

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 6394
Offline
#3 : November 07, 2009, 07:17:01 PM

In college they can kick from a tee.....

BucsGuru

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 6394
Offline
#4 : November 07, 2009, 07:17:54 PM

What was even more funny is the commentator saying this loss finally puts ND out of BCS bowl competition..........I guess those other TWO losses didn't count?  A friggin joke man.

John Galt?

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 18831
Offline
#5 : November 07, 2009, 08:59:28 PM

Notre Dame gets 2 mulligans when it comes to bowl games.


Biggs3535

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 31377
Offline
#6 : November 07, 2009, 09:33:32 PM

In the NFL I believe after a safety, the team must punt the ball off to the other team.  Is that not so in college football? 
Notre Dame allowed a safety by Navy, but then kicked off instead of punting the ball?

I believe it's a free kick in both the NFL and College, which means the team can either kick off or punt.




Guest
#7 : November 07, 2009, 09:41:36 PM

In the NFL I believe after a safety, the team must punt the ball off to the other team.  Is that not so in college football? 
Notre Dame allowed a safety by Navy, but then kicked off instead of punting the ball?

I believe it's a free kick in both the NFL and College, which means the team can either kick off or punt.
Yeah it is. Teams usually elect to just Punt.

Biggs3535

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 31377
Offline
#8 : November 07, 2009, 09:50:44 PM

In the NFL I believe after a safety, the team must punt the ball off to the other team.  Is that not so in college football? 
Notre Dame allowed a safety by Navy, but then kicked off instead of punting the ball?

I believe it's a free kick in both the NFL and College, which means the team can either kick off or punt.
Yeah it is. Teams usually elect to just Punt.

Yup, because you can control a punt better than a kick off - usually.


BucsGuru

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 6394
Offline
#9 : November 07, 2009, 10:20:26 PM

actually in the nfl, it has to be a punt or drop kick; no tee can be used.
Page: 1
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  College Football Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Rule Question? « previous next »
:

Hide Tools Show Tools