Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: BREAKING: REFEREE TONY CORRENTE EXPLAINS CONTROVERSIAL CALL ON CLAYTON CATCH « previous next »
Page: 1 ... 5 6 7

Thomas

****
Starter

Posts : 442
Offline
#90 : November 16, 2009, 07:46:38 PM

lol

The White Tiger

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 11371
Offline
#91 : November 16, 2009, 07:49:53 PM



he's down right there, and there is no refuting it...

blown call, simple as that, one that probably cost us the game, but kept us in the hunt for the #1 draft pick.

I'd rather have wins, but the positive spin is that we remain in a fight for the top draft spot due to the incompetence of the ref crew.

WHOA - now I'm angry again...


Incomparable sig by Incognito

The White Tiger

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 11371
Offline
#92 : November 16, 2009, 07:52:23 PM

Was listening to 1010 tonight and they led me to a logical conclusion - what this rule really means is: every LB and DB should wait till a receiver hits the ground and then UNLOAD on them...or knock 'em down then spike them...anything so long as you separate the ball from the player...

otherwise...that would be w-r-o-n-g...

Incomparable sig by Incognito

ryan24

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 10780
Offline
#93 : November 16, 2009, 08:10:24 PM

Quote
"Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that 'if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."'

real simple.

Clayton did not do this.

Correct call according to the rule.

Happy and Peppy and Bursting with love.

CurtR1995

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 2711
Offline
#94 : November 16, 2009, 09:05:21 PM

"he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground.."

Unless the amount of time is infinite, this was a catch. 

dbucfan

*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 46214
Offline
#95 : November 16, 2009, 09:21:03 PM

In another thread I offered - great answer, wrong question.  The answer being provided to identify the rule application is based upon acts that did not occur. 

\"A Great Coach has to have a Patient Wife, A Loyal Dog, and a Great Quarterback. . . . but not necessarily in that order\" ~ Coach Bud Grant

The White Tiger

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 11371
Offline
#96 : November 16, 2009, 11:27:07 PM

Quote
"Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that 'if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."'

real simple.

Clayton did not do this.

Correct call according to the rule.

Wrong call - maybe you need to see Turbo's picture again....?



See, two cheeks, back, one shoulder and an arm...notice the ball is tucked...then the defender smacks the ball out while Clankton is ON THE GROUND.

BAD CALL.

period.

Incomparable sig by Incognito

SWAGGARRR

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 4964
Offline
#97 : November 16, 2009, 11:56:28 PM

Quote
"Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that 'if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."'

real simple.

Clayton did not do this.

Correct call according to the rule.

Wrong call - maybe you need to see Turbo's picture again....?



See, two cheeks, back, one shoulder and an arm...notice the ball is tucked...then the defender smacks the ball out while Clankton is ON THE GROUND.

BAD CALL.

period.

He needs to have the replay spelled out for him...

W-R-O-N-G C-A-L-L

MC80 maintained control of the ball all the way through his roll and Yeremiah Bell stripped the ball from him with his right arm...


SWAGGARRR

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 4964
Offline
#98 : November 16, 2009, 11:58:44 PM

All doubters please take the time to watch this replay before you look like applejacks...

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=7638463&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=1&color=ff9933&fullscreen=1


ONEBIGDADDY

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 4527
Offline
#99 : November 17, 2009, 10:20:35 PM

All doubters please take the time to watch this replay before you look like applejacks...

http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=7638463&server=vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=1&color=ff9933&fullscreen=1
This pretty much explains it all. Clayton was down by contact and is end of story... It was a Catch...Mr. Magoo could see this without his glasses...OBD


Bucfanut

****
Starter

Posts : 951
Offline
#100 : November 18, 2009, 01:33:33 AM

Refs sure have slow whistles with us when we're on offense. It was much less blatant but still obvious, Caddy downed Marcus Washington by contact in that playoff game before he scooped up the loose ball and it got returned for a TD. Now this. Oh, and Arrington fumbled a ball back to us in that game but they ruled him "down by  contact", and that was non-reviewable then. Oops.

Morgan

User is banned from postingMuted
*
Hall of Famer
******
Posts : 14658
Offline
#101 : November 21, 2009, 06:32:14 PM

anyone see the USF game today - USF receiver had an identical type of catch/fumble - but the CFA refs got it right and rule the WR down - he had also hit the ground and then the ball popped up and another USF player "intercepted" it and ran it into the endzone - now I can see what the NFL ref was talking about.

The White Tiger

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 11371
Offline
#102 : November 21, 2009, 07:52:08 PM

Didn't they rule him down at the 6 yard line and determined he had retained possession?

Incomparable sig by Incognito
Page: 1 ... 5 6 7
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: BREAKING: REFEREE TONY CORRENTE EXPLAINS CONTROVERSIAL CALL ON CLAYTON CATCH « previous next »
:

Hide Tools Show Tools