Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Can someone please explain to me... « previous next »
Page: 1

rocketspeed

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
: October 30, 2006, 12:18:39 AM

I was a bit confused for the Fumble call on Carnell Williams (don't remember which QTR) when Bruce threw a pitch to him and Carnell dropped it.  Why is it called a fumble if it was a dropped pass?

BP1

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1249
Offline
#1 : October 30, 2006, 12:25:23 AM

it was a pitch backwards, not a pass.


mjs020294

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 2245
Offline
#2 : October 30, 2006, 12:36:54 AM

it was a pitch backwards, not a pass.

Yep.....and it was right infront of Caddy, but he took his eyes off the ball. [banghead]


rocketspeed

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#3 : October 30, 2006, 12:37:21 AM

Are all pitches dropped considered fumbles?

Caveat Emperor

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1270
Offline
#4 : October 30, 2006, 12:39:06 AM

Are all pitches dropped considered fumbles?

Yes. Any backwards pass, latteral or pitch that hits the turf is considered a fumble.

BUCFAN4LIFE

*****
Pro Bowler

Posts : 1832
Offline
#5 : October 30, 2006, 12:40:34 AM

I also was unaware of the rule that on 4th down even if you get the first and fumble that the player that fumbled must be the one that recovers it-- I could see if the 1st down was never accomplished, but otherwise that rule seems pretty freaking stupid.


mjs020294

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 2245
Offline
#6 : October 30, 2006, 12:41:51 AM

I also was unaware of the rule that on 4th down even if you get the first and fumble that the player that fumbled must be the one that recovers it-- I could see if the 1st down was never accomplished, but otherwise that rule seems pretty freaking stupid.

The rule is there on 4th down to stop the receiver coughing it up and gaining yards on a fumble.


rocketspeed

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#7 : October 30, 2006, 12:52:21 AM

The 4th down fumble rule actually makes sense to me. The pitch dropped fumble rule doesn't. A pitch is just another form of a pass.

Oh well. I should apologize to my TV for calling it a Moron eventhou it was directed at the referee.

ABuccs Fan

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#8 : October 30, 2006, 02:05:14 AM

Please tell us all now how this was all just a joke, and that you really knew that was a fumble. Please tell us you knew that was a fumble. I'm begging you.

OpTiOnMaStA

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#9 : October 30, 2006, 02:09:43 AM

A pitch isn't a pass, it is a pitch. It is like a variation of a hand off. It determines the difference between YAC and a carry stat.

ABuccs Fan

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#10 : October 30, 2006, 02:11:27 AM

A pitch isn't a pass, it is a pitch. It is like a variation of a hand off. It determines the difference between YAC and a carry stat.
I can't believe we're explaining this!!!

alldaway

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 37308
Offline
#11 : October 30, 2006, 07:38:23 AM

I also was unaware of the rule that on 4th down even if you get the first and fumble that the player that fumbled must be the one that recovers it-- I could see if the 1st down was never accomplished, but otherwise that rule seems pretty freaking stupid.

I think you can ask Madden about that rule.   ;) :D

rocketspeed

*
Practice Squad

Posts : 0
Offline
#12 : October 30, 2006, 09:22:32 AM

A pitch isn't a pass, it is a pitch. It is like a variation of a hand off. It determines the difference between YAC and a carry stat.
I can't believe we're explaining this!!!


What's your problem?

tonyflash

****
Starter

Posts : 743
Offline
#13 : October 30, 2006, 09:25:00 AM

I also was unaware of the rule that on 4th down even if you get the first and fumble that the player that fumbled must be the one that recovers it-- I could see if the 1st down was never accomplished, but otherwise that rule seems pretty freaking stupid.

I think you can ask Madden about that rule. ;) :D

I think it makes sense in the case of the "Holy Roller", but not they way it went down yesterday. He had the first down, then the ball came out. Also it was not the end of a game. The rule needs to be addressed IMO.


BucHarbour

******
Hall of Famer

Posts : 3110
Offline
#14 : October 30, 2006, 08:03:48 PM

Yeah, that rule should only apply if the ball is fumbled forward. In my opinion, any time a fumble occurs, and the fumbling team recovers, it should be forward progress to the point of the fumble and no further. Simple enough method to eliminate the forward fumbles.

>>Ugh.
Page: 1
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Can someone please explain to me... « previous next »
:

Hide Tools Show Tools