Welcome, Guest
Pewter Report  >>  Boards  >>  The Red Board (Moderators: 3rd String Kicker, PRPatrol)  >>  Topic: Concerns about the upcoming draft... « previous next »
Page: 1

psymun

Starter
: November 04, 2006, 03:10:19 PM

I'm not a pro scout, but these are a few things I've noticed watching some of the players that many of you seem to think would be incredible players...

Calvin Johnson? Dwayne Jarrett... The same can be said for both of them... Neither does a whole lot after the catch. Don't get me wrong, they have great speed, athleticism, and hands, and they truely are incredible prospects, but  neither of them are really west coast receivers. Both have been taken out of games COMPLETELY which is something that you don't see in college football with ELITE players.

How about Quentin Moses and Gaines Adams? I can couple these 2 together also.  Both of them can be completely nutralized. I'm watching the Clemson game right now, and I've watched the Georgia games too, and when they get double-teamed on running plays, they seemingly give up. They actually remind me of Rice.

Now, each of the players I mentioned have dominated their opponents at times, but for being elite Top 10 picks, they shouldn't be as easily neutralized as they are.

Just to add to my point... Mark Anderson was consistently dominant in college... Where is he now? Why did he fall? He lacked the elite speed and athleticism, but it seems like he has done quite well...

Mario Williams on the other hand... was able to be neutralized from time to time and look at how he's doing in the NFL...

I'm not saying none of these players will develop, and I'm not saying players like Mark Anderson will continue to be standouts... my only point is that these "Elite" players aren't as elite as you all try to make them out to be...

OpTiOnMaStA

Practice Squad

#1 : November 04, 2006, 03:21:10 PM