The participants of Tampa Bay's three-day rookie mini-camp, which begins Friday at One Buccaneer Place, are now known.

In addition to Tampa Bay's seven selections from the 2008 NFL Draft and the five players that recently signed with the Bucs as undrafted free agents, the Pewter Pirates will have 38 players participating on tryout contracts this weekend in hopes of being offered an opportunity to go to training camp in July.

The Bucs have signed the following players to tryout contracts for this weekend's three-day rookie mini-camp:

DE Tommy Blake (Texas Christian)
DT Chris Bradwell (Troy)
DE Daniel Brooks (Jackson State)
K Art Carmody (Louisville)
T Jared Carnes (South Florida)
G Jackie Claude (Florida State)
LB Derrick Doggett (Oregon State)
WR Wes Doyle (San Diego)
CB Bryan Flowers (Jacksonville)
DE Vegas Franklin (Miami)
CB Byron Gravin (Kansas State)
RB Lavarius Giles (Jackson State)
K Chris Gould (Virginia)
T Floyd Headen (West Texas State)
WR Bruce Hocker (Duquesne)
S Anthony Houlis (Florida State)
WR Amari Jackson (South Florida)
CB Brandon Jackson (Georgia Southern)
S Kyle Jackson (Florida State)
FB Langston Johnson (Yale)
LB Adam Kadela (Northwestern)
QB Sam Keller (Nebraska)
T Adam Kleft (Central Michigan)
TE Gerald Landry (Southern)
TE Jon Loyte (Boston College)
LB Ron McCullough (Bethune Cookman)
LB Corey McKeon (Nebraska)
DT Tywain Miles (Tarleton State)
DT Alphonso Moran (Kansas State)
WR Derrick Richards (Utah)
C John Rochford (Miami)
CB Junior Rosegreen (Auburn)
LS Garrison Sanborn (Florida State)
G Pat Schwenke (West Texas A&M)
LS Garrison Sanborn (Florida State)
G Pat Schwenke (West Texas A&M)
RB Clifton Smith (Fresno State)
LB Gian Villante (Hofstra)
OL Walter Walker (South Florida)
FB Stan White (Ohio State)

In addition, four first-year Bucs players –defensive end Marquies Gunn, cornerback Marcus Hamilton, guard Brian Johnson and wide receiver Charles Spiller – are eligible to practice, giving the Bucs a total of 54 players participating in the rookie mini-camp this weekend.

In related news, Tampa Bay's seven picks from the 2008 NFL Draft have been assigned jersey numbers, which can be viewed below:

CB Aqib Talib – No. 25
WR Dexter Jackson – No. 1
OL Jeremy Zuttah – No. 76
DT Dre' Moore – No. 67
QB Josh Johnson – No. 11
LB Geno Hayes – No. 45
RB Cory Boyd – No. 39

Other Stories From Buccaneers Rookie Mini-Camp

Rookie Mini-Camp Notebook: Friday 

Jackson Eager To Compete

Inside Bucs Rookie Mini-Camp Friday

Talib Wastes No Time Competing On Practice Field

Johnson Makes Buccaneers Debut  

Want the inside scoop on the Tampa Bay Buccaneers' 2008 offseason plans? Want to find out who the Bucs are targeting in free agency and the NFL Draft this year? Subscribe to's Pewter Insider by clicking here.

WATCH Pewter Report's Scott Reynolds and Jim Flynn on select Sunday nights at 11:30 p.m. on Sports Zone with Al Keck and Tom Korun on ABC Action News in Tampa Bay for Bucs game highlights and the latest Bucs news. And for the best local coverage of Tampa Bay sports and Tampa Bay news, check out

LISTEN to Pewter Report's Jim Flynn each Monday morning at 8:30 a.m. on the Pewter Pulse with Dan Sileo on WDAE 620 AM The Sports Animal, and catch Pewter Report's Scott Reynolds each Wednesday afternoon at 5:00 p.m. on the Buccaneer Blitz with Steve Duemig on WDAE 620 AM The Sports Animal.


Share On Socials

About the Author: PRStaff

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments