The Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ Ring of Honor will gain new membership next season and the team plans to reveal its selection(s) Friday afternoon.

Co-chairman Bryan Glazer will formally make the announcement during the annual Ring of Honor press conference at One Buc Place at 3 p.m.

Last year’s inductions of quarterback Doug Williams and fullback Mike Alstott increased the Ring of Honor’s current membership to eight. Previous inductees were defensive end Lee Roy Selmon (2009), head coach John McKay (2010), tight end Jimmie Giles (2011), left tackle Paul Gruber (2012), defensive tackle Warren Sapp (2013) and linebacker Derrick Brooks (2014).

Possible candidates for induction in 2016 include safety John Lynch (1993-2003: current Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist), head coach Tony Dungy (1996-2001: current Pro Football Hall of Fame finalist), running back James Wilder (1981-1989: Bucs’ all-time leading rusher), cornerback Ronde Barber (1997-2012: Bucs’ all-time leader in interceptions), linebacker Hardy Nickerson (1993-99: third-most tackles in team history, four-time All-Pro) and center Tony Mayberry (1990-1999: three-time Pro-Bowler, fourth-most career starts in franchise history).

Since the Ring of Honor was established during the 2009 season, last year was the first in which more than one former Buccaneer received recognition.

Mentioned in a Ring of Honor article written in 2014 by the team’s senior writer/editor Scott Smith: “There is no written list of rules for the selection procedure, which ultimately lies in the hands of team ownership. There also is no set number of years a person has to be removed from his playing, coaching or administrating days with the team, if at all.”

Share On Socials

About the Author: Eric Horchy

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

Good time for JL47

5 years ago

If I only have one vote it goes to JDub. For you youngsters, that would be James Wilder.