Currently, there are 0 users and 1 guest visiting this topic.
Viewing 37 reply threads

• Author

• Anonymous

Inactive

Getting away from Trump and politics for a bit…

What is everyone’s experience with and/or opinion of whole life insurance.

I work in the industry and I’m always curious of public perception.

Does anyone own it? Love it? Hate it? Dave Ramsey?

• ISLAND BUCS

Participant

Whole Life has an element of investment built into it.

And the percentage of investment increase  in whole life is low compared with the return from a S&P Index fund.

So when you are trying to get protection for your family, buy the cheaper term life insurance.

And when your kids grow up and you have enough for you and your wife (hopefully), you can cancel all life insurance, and with the difference between term and whole life, to invest,  you will have built up a nice nest egg.

Others may have a different life situation.  The above worked well for me.  I have no life insurance today.

Remain intimately at the heart of experience.

• Anonymous

Inactive

No matter how it’s packaged the cost of insurance is too high to use as an investment vehicle, especially when you could have a UL or something similar.

• Anonymous

Inactive

So where do you store your safe dollars?

• Anonymous

Inactive

Safe long term dollars, in many places.

• Anonymous

Inactive

In my experience here are the safe dollar options to weather down markets in retirement:

Cash

Savings acct or money market

CDs

Bills/Notes/Bonds

Fixed annuity

Whole life

What am I missing?

• Anonymous

Inactive

In my experience here are the safe dollar options to weather down markets in retirement:

Cash

Savings acct or money market

CDs

Bills/Notes/Bonds

Fixed annuity

Whole life

What am I missing?

Real estate, business, balanced portfolio?

• Anonymous

Inactive