Tampa Bay’s dreadful 2014 season concluded with a 23-20 loss to New Orleans at Raymond James Stadium on Sunday. While that defeat resulted in a winless year in the NFL South for the first time in team history and a winless season at home for the first time since the birth of the franchise in 1976, it also earned the Buccaneers the first overall pick in the 2015 NFL Draft.

Before we shift our attention to the 2015 offseason, let’s take one final look at this past year’s campaign and hand out PewterReport.com’s 2014 Buccaneers Season MVPs. These awards were voted on by the PewterReport.com editorial staff. As always, if the Buccaneers Season MVP award is given to an offensive player, as was the case this year, a defensive player will be presented with the runner-up honors.

Tomorrow will feature PewterReport.com’s 2014 Buccaneers Assistant Coach of the Year, followed by PewterReport.com’s 2014 Buccaneers Players Awards and Pewter Performances. Stay tuned to PewterReport.com through the weekend.

An asterisk (*) indicates the first year the award was presented.

WR Mike Evans
Evans, the team’s first-round draft pick, quickly established himself as the most potent on offense in Tampa Bay and is the 2014 Buccaneers Season MVP. He had the best season of any Tampa Bay player by PewterReport.com’s estimation and is in the mix for the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Award. His 12 touchdown catches this year set new team and rookie records and he finished with 68 catches for a team-leading 1,051 yards. The Texas A&M product also teamed with Vincent Jackson to become the first receivers to each hit the 1,000-yard receiving mark in the same year in Tampa Bay history. Evans had a three-game stretch in November in which he recorded at least 124 yards receiving in those contests, including a 209-yard, two-touchdown effort at Washington, which was the third-most receiving yards in a game in franchise history. Imagine what Evans could do in 2015 with a real offensive coordinator and improved quarterback play.

2013 LB Lavonte David
2012 LB Lavonte David
2011 DE Adrian Clayborn
2010 CB Ronde Barber
2009 FS Tanard Jackson
2008 WR Antonio Bryant
2007 DE Greg White
2006 WR Joey Galloway
2005 DE Simeon Rice
2004 DE Greg Spires
2003 DE Simeon Rice
2002 LB Derrick Brooks
2001 CB Ronde Barber
2000 LB Derrick Brooks
1999 FB Mike Alstott
1998 FB Mike Alstott
1997 DT Warren Sapp
1996 FB Mike Alstott
1995* RB Errict Rhett

DT Gerald McCoy
McCoy, the runner-up for the 2014 Bucs Season MVP, became the first Tampa Bay defensive lineman to go to three Pro Bowls when he received that distinction for the third straight season, joining elite company among the likes Warren Sapp and Lee Roy Selmon. Despite being hampered by a broken hand in Week 2 and a sprained knee in Week 14 that caused him to be placed on injured reserve and miss the final two games of the season, McCoy finished with 8.5 sacks, 35 tackles, 13 tackles for loss and a forced fumble. The Buccaneers re-signed the team’s leader and face of the franchise this year to a seven-year deal worth $95 million.

2013 WR Vincent Jackson
2012 RB Doug Martin
2011 RG Davin Joseph
2010 QB Josh Freeman
2009 TE Kellen Winslow
2008 MLB Barrett Ruud
2007 QB Jeff Garcia
2006 CB Ronde Barber
2005 WR Joey Galloway
2004 WR Michael Clayton
2003 WR Keenan McCardell
2002 QB Brad Johnson
2001 WR Keyshawn Johnson
2000 RB Warrick Dunn
1999 LB Derrick Brooks
1998 LB Derrick Brooks
1997 QB Trent Dilfer
1996 LB Hardy Nickerson
1995* LB Hardy Nickerson

K Patrick Murray
The Buccaneers raised plenty of eyebrows when the team released long-time veteran kicker Connor Barth and kept rookie Patrick Murray instead. Despite Murray having his first field goal attempt get blocked, he rebounded and finished his initial NFL season connecting on 20-of-24 attempts (83.3 percent) – with two blocked by opponents. Murray was an impressive 5-of-6 on his attempts from 50 yards or more, and his five field goals from that range, including a career-long 55 yards, tied a franchise record. With a year’s worth of experience under his belt there is no reason why Murray shouldn’t be even more impressive in 2015.

2013 LB Adam Hayward
2012 LB Dekoda Watson
2011 K Connor Barth
2010 K Connor Barth
2009 KR-PR Clifton Smith
2008 KR-PR Clifton Smith
2007 P Josh Bidwell
2006 K Matt Bryant
2005 P Josh Bidwell
2004 LB Keith Burns
2003 P Tom Tupa
2002 K Martin Gramatica
2001 RB Rabih Abdullah
2000 K Martin Gramatica
1999 K Martin Gramatica
1998 LB Shelton Quarles
1997 PR Karl Williams
1996* Entire Special Teams

WR Mike Evans
While fellow rookies tight end Austin Seferian-Jenkins, running back Charles Sims and offensive tackle Kevin Pamphile contributed to Tampa Bay’s offense in 2014, none came close to the production of Evans, who became the second rookie to post a 1,000-yard receiving season in franchise history (Michael Clayton, 1,193 yards in 2004). Playing in 15 games during his rookie campaign, Evans’ 12 touchdowns also broke Mike Williams’ rookie receiving TDs record of 11, which was set in 2010. It’s rare that a rookie comes into the NFL and is the best player on offense or defense, but that was the case with Evans in 2014.

2013 QB Mike Glennon
2012 LB Lavonte David
2011 DE Adrian Clayborn
2010 WR Mike Williams
2009 WR Sammie Stroughter
2008 CB Aqib Talib
2007 FS Tanard Jackson
2006 G Davin Joseph
2005 RB Cadillac Williams
2004 WR Michael Clayton
2003 CB Ronyell Whitaker
2002 FB Darian Barnes
2001 FS John Howell
2000 LB Nate Webster
1999 K Martin Gramatica
1998 LB Jamie Duncan
1997 RB Warrick Dunn and CB Floyd Young
1996 FB Mike Alstott and CB Donnie Abraham
1995* LB Derrick Brooks

Share On Socials

About the Author: Scott Reynolds

Scott Reynolds is in his 25th year of covering the Tampa Bay Buccaneers as the vice president, publisher and senior Bucs beat writer for PewterReport.com. Author of the popular SR's Fab 5 column on Fridays, Reynolds oversees web development and forges marketing partnerships for PewterReport.com in addition to his editorial duties. A graduate of Kansas State University in 1995, Reynolds spent six years giving back to the community as the defensive line coach for his sons' Pop Warner team, the South Pasco Predators. Reynolds can be reached at: sr@pewterreport.com
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Evans was a lot of fun to watch this season. Should be NFL OROY. Go Bucs!

6 years ago

Congrats to all. Go Bucs!

6 years ago

Bold choices Scott – just wondering how GMC has never won the overall MVP for us….clearly our best player…