Offensive guard Ali Marpet was named the winner of the annual Ed Block Courage Award on Friday, as voted on by his teammates.

Now in the award’s 42nd year, all 32 NFL teams hold a vote each season and name one player on the roster deserving of the Ed Block Courage Award. The award was created to honor those players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage, also symbolizing professionalism, great strength and dedication as a role model in the community.

Marpet’s recognition marks the second consecutive season in which an offensive lineman has won the award, with right tackle Demar Dotson being named the Bucs’ recipient in 2019, preceded by linebacker Lavonte David in 2018 and defensive lineman Will Gholston in 2017.

As part of a number of charitable events held by the Bucs’ organization each year, Tampa Bay’s offensive line participated in their 11th annual “Turkey Time with the O-Line” event this past season. The event hosts over 1,000 underserved families at Tampa Bay’s training facility during Thanksgiving week, providing a full meal and a chance to meet Bucs players.

Share On Socials

About the Author: Taylor Jenkins

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 months ago

Very cool! He’s the freakin man!

3 months ago

Marpet is the ultimate pro. Good guy great player. Well deserved!

3 months ago

Outstanding, #74!

3 months ago

Look at his face in that picture- he legit wants to tear into someone. Glad he’s a Buc!

3 months ago

Ali is a great Pro and has gotten better every year.