The Bucs’ veteran linebacker Lavonte David was announced as one of eight finalists for the NFL’s annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Created in 2014 and named after the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award is given each year in recognition of a player’s outstanding sportsmanship on the playing field.

Ravens defensive tackle Calais Campbell, Steelers defensive tackle Cam Heyward, Colts defensive end Justin Houston, Patriots wide receiver Matthew Slater, Panthers quarterback Teddy Bridgewater, Eagles center Jason Kelce and 49ers fullback Kyle Juszczyk join David as finalists for this year’s award.

Larry Fitzgerald Jr., Charles Woodson, Luke Kuechly, Frank Gore, Drew Brees and Adrian Peterson have been the award’s previous recipients.


Share On Socials

About the Author: Taylor Jenkins

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 months ago

Cool and all. But he could be a HOF linebacker on a franchise worth a damn. Same with Evans. I feel for them. They’ve sacrificed their bodies and hearts for losing Bucs teams.